Down The Book Cubbyhole

The Geeky Adventures of a Bookish Girl

The Lovely Bones — Alice Sebold

12232938

Frankly, I wasn’t attached to this as much as I was with the movie. I have this firm conviction that it’ll be a tragic yet gripping and thought-provoking tale of a girl; as it appears to be in the big screen. I guess it just didn’t live up to my expectations. That’s what you get when you watch the movie first. Or perhaps, the movie was just way better.

I have lost regard for some of the characters instead—Susie, her mom, and Detective Fenerman. Mrs. Salmon and Fenerman’s affair didn’t even made sense. A mother should be composed yet sensible enough to radiate grief, selfless, and bold enough to accept permanent adjustments. I didn’t see those from her; on the contrary, she let the pieces fall apart, impervious of reality, and plunged into a concrete ground and hit her head. Her means of forgetting slipped into infidelity. Meanwhile, Mr. Fenerman did not confront himself of delusion; as she reminded him of her deceased wife. Both made such terrible choices, which make them, human: flawed and peccable; but still, I cannot sympathize with them.

The ending was the worst yet; Susie, getting back on Earth, inhabiting her friend’s body to make love to her former love interest. What the hell?! She was raped but then she violated the same act? Doesn’t she have more necessary things to accomplish on Earth, like reuniting her family or disclosing her murder? How shallow of her.

Mr. Salmon on the other hand, won my heart. Restless, loving, and will chase the ends of the earth for her beloved child. I liked the fact that he doesn’t cease to find her murderer even at the verge of hopelessness. For his neighbors, he’s madly grief-stricken, a lunatic; but for me, he just loves his daughter so much, and every daughter wants to be loved like that.

The premise was brilliant, yes; but this was a frustrating read. Sorry for ranting but I prefer the movie. They were right for not including the dreadful scenes. This is actually one of my favorite movies because of how it inspired me. I will watch the movie over and over again but I am not sure if I am going to read this again in the future.

I decided to give it 2 stars, but the premise was praise-worthy so a 3 maybe.🙂

 

Rating: ★★★✰✰

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

still not mister successful.

Joshua Maria Peter Bautista

Cinderella Stories

The Cinderella who loves reading

DIARYhea

Entries about School, Teaching, Books, Gala, and Girl stuff from POV of a mermaid.

bluenibra.wordpress.com/

I'm Arbin. I write things. They write me.

PILIPINONG KATOLIKO

"Hiyas ng Minanang Pananampalataya"

The Daily Patrick

If there is a Daily Prophet, there is a Daily Patrick.

TheCoevas official blog

Strumentisti di Parole/Musicians of words

Full Of Roses Inspirationals

Christian inspirational photography and poetry

Pixie Stargirl

"When a stargirl cries, she sheds not tears but light." —Jerry Spinelli

empressm

Just another WordPress.com site

Reviews and Musings From a Geek

A geek-themed collection of reviews covering books, films, TV shows, and games

Jeyna Grace ©

Imagination, the perfect form of escapism.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

