Down The Book Cubbyhole

The Geeky Adventures of a Bookish Girl

Book Loans 2013.1

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

So… albeit the inevitable compulsion I have when it comes to squirreling away books, I still see to it that this routine of mine doesn’t bleed dry my already asphyxiating wallet. Hence, thrift books stores became my most intimate confidant, looking for titles that catch my eye. Then again, what better way to resuscitate a few cash into your moneybag than borrowing a few book titles from your fellow bookworms?

And so the dawn of my “book loans” documentation commenced…

My recent book loans are as follows:

1. Thanks for the Memories by Cecelia Ahern

I happened to bump into an auspicious affair, dropping by my aunt’s house after visiting another relative not very far from their residence. Oblivious to my cousins’ bibliophilic habits, neither did I expect them to own a profuse mound of books in their room. However, we don’t share similar sentiments with their ideal genre. They possess an endless stack of chic-lits, whereas I own a lone copy, read a few; let alone enjoy one or two. But as I was desperate enough to read, I singled out five books to bring home.

Thanks for the Memories had been my third read from author Cecelia Ahern. The previous books I’ve read from her were P.S. I Love You and Love, Rosie, once again borrowed from another cousin who curbs down in a middling diet of romantic tales. I won’t be giving too much away, but a huge chunk of this tale roughly deals with the protagonists’ unexpected encounters with each other, those cute little meet-ups, unaware of fate’s insistence on finally bringing them together.

2. Brida by Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho is one of the authors I regard with such utmost esteem. My first read from him was The Alchemist and I found myself completely immersed in it. I guess these are my kind of books, those that goad one’s ruminations about one’s self and the higher purpose in life. In fact, these are bits and pieces that constantly bother me. What is the point of all these misleading conundrums if not for a more profound reason?

Fortunately, the eldest of the siblings’ owns one. Turns out, an officemate lend it to her and since I read without delay, she allowed me to borrow it as well. It didn’t quite deliver akin to my expectations, but a fairly decent read nonetheless. Despite the unacceptable lift of brow, I still wish to become a completist of his books sometime in the future.

3. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares

A party of girls in possession of a nomadic denim? Haha. I don’t really know what this is about save for the fact that it has been adapted to the big screen, Gossip Girl’s Serena stars here, and that truth be told, I haven’t watched it just yet. But at least give it a try, right?

4. The Nanny Diaries by Emma McLaughlin & Nicola Kraus
This one I can discern with much ease. I’m very certain there’s a nanny in there and that the story chronicles her child-rearing affairs. Well, is it? I’m simply guessing here. Haha. I’ve been seeing this on Goodreads for a while now, and it wouldn’t hurt trying this one, too. 🙂

5. 14 by J.T. Ellison

Even though chic-lits prevailed over their shelf, one of the siblings enjoys mystery-thrillers as well (oh, thank goodness!)—a fresh retreat from the mushy tales they immerse themselves into. It’s a crime-thriller, wherein the pegged “Snow White Killer” who once terrorized the streets of a certain town is on the loom again—the authorities unsure whether it’s the same killer or another madman who wishes to finish the sick fairytale the initial delinquent had started.

My brother gave it a five-star rating, and so I am expecting a wave of trepidation and rush of adrenaline in this book. For the past few weeks, months even, I haven’t read anything that gave quite a shocker. Let’s hope it does. 🙂

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

6. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

I brought this during my Cagayan visit for the period of the Holy Week break, coming from another cousin who owns a wide selection of YA novels. I didn’t finish it though as I have been preoccupied with some other stuff, i.e. swimming, neighboring, wandering, sleeping, etc. 🙂 I finished it just a few days ago—so far, giggle-worthy, a tad too boring, but what can I say? Just the right book if you want something light and fun.

7. Ang Mga Kaibigan ni Mama Susan by Bob Ong

Bob Ong is a widely renowned writer here in the Philippines, yet, it’s my first time to get a hold of one of his books. A fellow member of the PRPB (Pinoy Reads Pinoy Books) in Goodreads lent it to me. It got pleasant reviews from my cousin and siblings (I let them read it first), but my GR friends gave it glum reviews. I don’t know who to trust so I’ll be setting this next in my TBR after finishing Zombies vs. Unicorns by Holly Black, Justin Larbalestier, and various authors. I hope it won’t disappoint.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Book Loans 2013.1

  1. Lucky you. I’ve no one to borrow books from actually. I mean someone immediate. Most of my immediate friends are non-readers.

  2. 50% of my “read” shelf were borrowed from myriad resources, specifically from a cousin who can buy any book that she wants. Haha. If only I can splurge a lot on books, I must have a gigantic library by now.

    … but then again, I download a lot of ebooks online—for free. Even those newly published, I have a way of finding them. *grins* You can handcuff me now, suit yourself. *offers hands* 😀

Leave a comment

Cinderella Stories

The Cinderella who loves reading

DIARYhea

Anything about school, books, pets and everything.

bluenibra.wordpress.com/

I write things. They write me.

PILIPINONG KATOLIKO

"Hiyas ng Minanang Pananampalataya"

TheCoevas official blog

Strumentisti di Parole/Musicians of words

FULL OF ROSES INSPIRATIONALS

Christian inspirational photography and poetry

Pixie Stargirl

"When a stargirl cries, she sheds not tears but light." —Jerry Spinelli

empressm

Just another WordPress.com site

Jeyna Grace

A Story Begins

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.